Constellations (Nakshatras)

Constellations (Nakshatras)

Nakshatras, also known as lunar mansions, are an integral part of Vedic astrology. They are a unique system of 27 divisions along the ecliptic, each associated with specific stars or star clusters. The term "Nakshatra" comes from the Sanskrit words "Naksha," meaning "map," and "Tara," meaning "star," indicating their role as celestial maps in the sky.

The Nakshatras play a crucial role in understanding an individual's personality, emotions, and life experiences. Each Nakshatra has its unique qualities, symbolism, and ruling deity, which influences the traits and characteristics of individuals born under its influence.

In Vedic astrology, the Moon's placement in a particular Nakshatra at the time of birth is considered significant, as it influences an individual's emotions and mind. The Nakshatra occupied by the Moon in the birth chart is called the Janma Nakshatra or Birth Star and is used to provide deeper insights into a person's innate nature and life path.

Nakshatras are also used in various predictive techniques, such as Muhurta (electional astrology) and Horary astrology, to find auspicious times for important events or to answer specific questions.

Each Nakshatra is divided into four quarters or padas, further refining its influence. The Nakshatras offer a rich and nuanced perspective in Vedic astrology, highlighting the complexity and interconnectedness of the cosmic influences on human life. Studying the Nakshatras allows astrologers to provide more detailed and accurate readings and helps individuals gain a deeper understanding of their unique qualities and life's journey.

Locations of Constellation

Here are the 27 Nakshatras in Vedic astrology along with their corresponding zodiac positions:

Nakshatra Degree Ruling Planet
Ashwini 0 - 13:20 Aries Ketu
Bharani 13:20 - 26:40 Aries Venus
Krittikai 26:40 Aries - 10:00 Taurus Sun
Rohini 10:00 - 23:20 Taurus Moon
Mrigashirshai 23:20 Taurus - 6:40 Gemini Mars
Ardra 6:40 - 20:00 Gemini Rahu
Punarvasu 20:00 Gemini - 3:20 Cancer Jupiter
Pushya 23:20 - 16:40 Cancer Saturn
Ashlesha 16:40 - 30:00 Cancer Mercury
Magha 0 - 13:20 Leo Ketu
Purva Phalguni 13:20 - 26:40 Leo Venus
Uttara Phalguni 26:40 Leo - 10:00 Virgo Sun
Hasta 10:00 - 23:20 Virgo Moon
Chitra 23:20 Virgo - 6:40 Libra Mars
Swati 6:40 - 20:00 Libra Rahu
Vishakha 20:00 Libra - 3:20 Scorpio Jupiter
Anuradha 3:20 - 16:40 Scorpio Saturn
Jyeshta 316:40 - 30:00 Scorpio Mercury
Mula 0 - 13:20 Sagittarius Ketu
Purva Ashadha 13:20 - 26:40 Sagittarius Venus
Uttara Ashadha 126:40 Sagittarius - 10:00 Capricorn Sun
Shravana 10:00 - 23.20 Capricorn Moon
Dhanistha 23:20 Capricorn - 6:40 Aquarius Mars
Shatabhisha 6:40 - 20:00 Aquarius Rahu
Purva Bhadrapada 20:00 Aquarius - 3:20 Pisces Jupiter
Uttara Bhadrapada 3:20 - 16:40 Pisces Saturn
Revathi 16:40 - 30:00 Pisces Mercury

These Nakshatras play a significant role in various Vedic astrological calculations, especially in determining planetary strengths, timing of events, and compatibility analysis. Vedic astrologers use the Nakshatras in conjunction with the planets, signs, and houses to provide comprehensive and detailed readings.

Qualities of Nakshatras

Each Nakshatra (lunar mansion) in Vedic astrology is associated with unique qualities, attributes, ruling deities, and symbolisms. Here's a brief overview of what each Nakshatra represents:


  • Associated with the Ashwini Kumaras, the divine physicians. It represents healing, initiation, and swiftness.
  • Bharani:

  • Symbolizes birth and death, as it is related to Yama, the god of death. It also signifies fertility and nurturing qualities.
  • Krittika:

  • Represented by the Pleiades star cluster, it is associated with the nurturing and protective qualities of a mother.
  • Rohini:

  • Associated with fertility, growth, and sensuality. It is represented by the red eye of the bull.
  • Mrigashira:

  • Symbolized by the deer's head, it represents curiosity, searching, and the quest for knowledge.
  • Ardra:

  • Related to Lord Shiva and symbolizes transformation, destruction, and renewal.
  • Punarvasu:

  • Signifies renewal, abundance, and rejuvenation. It is represented by a bow or quiver.
  • Pushya:

  • Symbolized by a cow's udder, it represents nourishment, guidance, and spiritual growth.
  • Ashlesha:

  • Associated with the serpent, it represents transformation, hidden desires, and emotional depth.
  • Magha:

  • Symbolized by a royal throne, it represents authority, leadership, and ancestral connections.
  • Purva Phalguni:

  • Signifies sensuality, love, and creative expression. It is represented by a swinging hammock.
  • Uttara Phalguni:

  • Symbolized by a bed, it represents partnership, cooperation, and service.
  • Hasta:

  • Signifies craftsmanship, healing, and the power of the hand. It is represented by an open hand.
  • Chitra:

  • Symbolizes beauty, art, and creative expression. It is represented by a shining gem.
  • Swati:

  • Represents independence, freedom, and self-reliance. It is symbolized by a young plant shoot swaying in the wind.
  • Vishakha:

  • Associated with balance, harmony, and the quest for truth. It is represented by a decorated archway.
  • Anuradha:

  • Signifies determination, resilience, and loyalty. It is represented by the lotus flower.
  • Jyeshtha:

  • Symbolizes authority, power, and inner strength. It is represented by the earring or circular amulet.
  • Mula:

  • Represents the root, the origin, and the process of uncovering hidden truths. It is symbolized by a group of roots.
  • Purva Ashadha:

  • Signifies victory, determination, and strength. It is represented by a fan or winnowing basket.Uttara Ashadha: Associated with achievement, ambition, and the power of persistence. It is symbolized by an elephant's tusk.
  • Uttara Ashadha:

  • Associated with achievement, ambition, and the power of persistence. It is symbolized by an elephant's tusk.
  • Shravana:

  • Represents listening, learning, and the quest for knowledge. It is symbolized by an ear or a trident.
  • Dhanishta:

  • Signifies wealth, abundance, and musical abilities. It is represented by a drum.
  • Shatabhisha:

  • Symbolizes healing, rejuvenation, and the power of 100 physicians. It is represented by an empty circle.
  • Purva Bhadrapada:

  • Associated with purification, liberation, and spiritual transformation. It is symbolized by a sword or two front legs of a funeral cot. Uttara Bhadrapada: Signifies the feet of a funeral cot and represents death and rebirth, sacrifice, and healing.
  • Revati:

  • Represents compassion, nourishment, and the final stage of a journey. It is symbolized by a fish.

Speak with
Jayesh Tekchandaney

Get Consultation